colorsshowsnewspeopleplacesshopstrends

Tokyo Girls Collection Live

Google teams up with Tokyo Girls Collection to stream their huge fashion show live

Bookmark and Share

YouTube will stream the Tokyo Girls Collection SS2011 show live from Yoyogi National Gymnasium in Tokyo this Saturday, March 5th. The feed features both the catwalk show and exclusive interviews with models and other participants.

TGC is a fashion show open to the general public and has been held twice a year since August 2005. One of the show’s main features is that visitors can purchase the items on their mobile phones as they are being displayed on the runway.

A small army of photographers and engineers photograph the items as the models stride onto the catwalk and within seconds they are visible on everybody’s mobile phone. Together with a buy button.

TGC is huge. The five-hour event features catwalk shows, live performances, visits from celebrities, live music performances and a whole array of booths introducing the latest beauty and health products. The last show attracted no less than 30,000 visitors.

Says Miki Iwamura, Google’s Director of Marketing in Japan: “TOKYO GIRLS COLLECTION is a perfect symbol of the creativity and power of Japanese fashion culture, and we are thrilled to make use of our latest technology to bring this content to overseas audiences — as well as Japanese fashion fans who cannot be there in person.”

According to Ayako Nagaya, Chief Producer of TGC, the YouTube channel is able to seamlessly provide information to users without any sort of time lag.

The event starts at 2:00 PM Japan Time:

Los Angeles – 10:00 PM (March 4!)
New York – 0:00 AM
London – 5:00 AM
Paris – 6:00 AM
Hong Kong – 1:00 PM
Melbourne – 3:00 PM

Tokyo Girls Collection in Japan

Kjeld Duits About the Author

Inspired by the stunningly creative street fashion that exploded on the streets of Tokyo and Osaka in the late 1990’s, photo-journalist Kjeld Duits launched JAPANESE STREETS in 2002. This makes JS one of the first fashion blogs on the net, and the very first to cover Japanese street fashion.

Recent articles by Kjeld Duits:

Comment (日本語もOK)

super cute naman !! B) i like their stuff ! <3 im so inlove with jap!!

zzd
Mar 23, 2011 (3188 days ago)

tokyo girl collection, i love this one. .

fashion news
May 19, 2011 (3130 days ago)

Leave a Comment • コメントをしましょう!

help

Guidelines for adding photos to comments: Width: 630 pixels | Orientation: Horizontal (Landscape).

We reserve the right to remove posts that do not follow these basic guidelines: comments must be relevant to the topic of the post; may not include profanity, personal attacks or hate speech; may not promote a business or raise money; may not be spam.

「Preview」(プレビュー)にクリックした後には「Submit」(投稿)にもクリックして下さい!

http://www.japanesestreets.com/reports/1276/tokyo-girls-collection-live
Related Posts with Thumbnails